Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 2nd, 2008

Not at the beach day

 

We aren’t exactly tired of the beach but I am a little tired of packing the cooler, the towels, lugging everything to the beach every day. Don’t get me wrong, I love it. I’m ready for the change. Talk to me in four months and I will want this back again. 

You WILL be seeing me do the happy dance on the first day of school tomorrow. Naked. In the middle of my living room. Dancing to Bon Jovi.

Sunday could have been a beach day but after seeing the traffic coming into town and lining up at the beach parking lots, there was no way we were going to cram ourselves on the already small beach, because mid-day was going to be high tide.

I met my mom at a farm in a nearby town, expecting to feed the kids lunch from the farm store (cider donuts and icecream and hopefully some fruit) and play on the playground and visit the farm animals.

When we drove up, we saw the signs “BLACKBERRY PICKING TODAY! Conditions=GOOD.”

There was an awesome breeze on a hot day, which kept us cool.

After Red was chased by a very large goose (screaming bloody murder) and Blue chased a herd of pheasants (herd of pheasants? or is it “flock”) around the barnyard, we headed up the path to the blackberry picking.

 I got pretty excited when I saw they were $2 a pint if we picked them ourselves. So we went with five pints.

Yes. I know. That’s alot of blackberries. Yum.


Exclamations from the bushes (since we had to climb in them to find the blackberries):

“THIS IS THE BEST DAY OF MY LIFE!”

“I don’t like blackberries and I won’t eat them, Mommy, but I do like picking them.”

“Are there bugs around here?

“The dead leaves are kind of creepy.”

“Why exactly are we picking these?”

“Do we have to give these back when we’re done?”

“I think I smooshed it.” 

I’m not sure how this happened, but Blue started the day, not knowing we were going to the farm, with a bandana around her neck.

And then we went to do some swinging after filling up our boxes of blackberries. The girls were proud.


Red just pretends to have fun. (kidding, she was gleeful the entire day, except for the part with the goose chase)

Blue loves to swing and eat flies.

I love blackberries.  Anytime. Anywhere. Even on french toast with bacon and syrup for dinner.

Read Full Post »