Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 19th, 2008

Yes. For once, I feel no guilt in looking forward to the weekend. The girls get a breather from me and school and go to their dad’s and I am shutting down shop at 5pm on Friday and won’t be working until Monday morning. Because I am forcing myself to forget what I need to do and just kick back, enjoy Piano Man, spend some time with D who is coming home from NYC for the weekend…we’re all heading to the piano bar on Saturday night for a big shebang. Remember D’s auntie who loved a piano man once? Well, along with her, we’ve got a gang of about 8 going to belt a few out. Yes. I can’t wait. We’ll be shutting down the season with a bang. 

I took a photo of the mural I painted at the elementary school the other day. I mean, that was yesterday. How I lose track of time WHEN I’M ON THE HELPDESK WITH APPLE AND MY REGISTRAR FOR FIVE HOURS ALL DAY! Yes, that was today.

I nearly cried when my helpdesk guy figured out the problem and actually FIXED it. And now, my new website is up, people can see my art. I can sell now. It looks good. I can stop stressing. 

Seriously though, by the end of the second hour on the help chat thing with Apple, I was offering the guy cake. I told him “if you fix this for me, I will send you a cake.” He didn’t fix it. It was the THIRD guy, a few hours later, who gets the cake. I said to him “YOU GET CAKE! The last guy doesn’t get cake!” 

I was choked up, I was so grateful. And then I went out into the sun and breathed for a bit before going up the street to pick the girls up from school.

And I was rewarded with love from them when they told me I was the nicest mommy in the world and how happy I must be today because I allowed them to watch tv after they did their homework. Banning tv since the weekend was the best thing I ever did.

Piano Man just let me know he found out that the apartment he is staying in while playing out of country in December and January, has wi fi. Which means, we can have ichat sex in desperate times. Just kidding. Okay, no I’m not. It will just be good to not be paying a fortune to talk on the phone while he is gone and to be able to talk to his face on my computer screen as I do now. What a difference it makes the long distance thing.

Last night I couldn’t sleep so I got on to Amazon and ordered the kids’ birthday and Christmas presents. You can buy anything on Amazon. Did you know that? ANYTHING. And I got what I needed, could track the spending, count things and look into details on things. I even got BLENDY PENS. (the girls have seen the informercial and keep asking me to buy them for them…I will never buy something from an 800 number off the television but I will order the same thing from Amazon.)

Lastly, our driveway was finished today, being paved. The guys doing it were great. They did a great job. As I was leaving the house to get the girls from school, the head dude, who owns the paving company, was getting ready to pack it in. They were finished with the job. I had given them the check an hour earlier. I went to thank them and he says to me “SO, HEY ARE YOU MARRIED?”

I was taken aback and said “um, no, not anymore!”

And he goes, “Well, you’re such a pretty lady! I should come up here for a drink sometime!”

This cracked me up because his business and home is about an hour and a half south of my town.

Yeah, right. Man.

And these were not guys who you wanted to be working throughout the day in your driveway without their shirts.

Read Full Post »